How to choose the best
apples for cooking?

When you hear the term “apple-based recipe”, odds are your mind will immediately go to a pie or a crumble. But there are so many ways you can use apples in your recipes. Applesauce, salads, meat sauce? it’s such a versatile fruit! But which apple variety should you use in which recipe? Let’s find out!

Trick 1: The Lobo

the Lobo

Have you ever noticed that some apples stay more intact than others when cooked? The reason has everything to do with what kind of apple is used. For instance, the Lobo is renowned for keeping its shape during cooking. Not too sweet and slightly acidic, it’s perfect for baking pies and crumbles that look like they belong in a bakery shop window!

Trick 2: The Cortland

the Cortland

A Cortland apple doesn’t turn brown when it comes into contact with air, making it the best type of apple for a sweet and savoury maple and bacon salad with nuts. Simply caramelize the nuts in the oven with some butter and maple syrup then mix it all up with green lettuce, a sliced Cortland apple, onions, and pieces of bacon. Speaking of meat, Cortland apples can also be used to make a sweet and sour sauce that perfectly complements pork.

Trick 2: The Cortland
Trick 3: The Empire

the Empire

The best thing about the Empire apple is that it is sweet and low in acid, making it perfect for cakes, pies, or even to top your pancakes in the morning. Want to prepare a healthy topping for dessert? Heat a few slices of apple in the microwave to soften them and sprinkle some maple syrup on top. Your kids will adore this treat!

Trick 4: The Spartan

the Spartan

The Spartan is packed with flavour and is moderately acid. If you love crumbles, this is the apple for you. To make kids (and adults) very happy, add a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top of every serving once out of the oven.

Trick 4: The Spartan
Trick 5: The McIntosh

the McIntosh

The McIntosh is the most popular apple in Quebec. It’s perfect for making applesauce because it breaks up very easily when heated. An apple that is very juicy and just sweet enough to make the perfect snack.

Trick 6: Early summer apples

early summer apples

Did you know that some apples are ready to be harvested in the middle of summer? The yellow transparent or the Jersey Mac for instance are not as common but they can be very useful ingredients. We call these early summer apples. Add them to oven-baked raspberry and apple squares or use them to make juice.

Trick 6: Early summer apples

As the saying goes, “an apple a day keeps the doctor away”, so eat as many as you like! In addition to the varieties mentioned above, you’ll find a large selection of apples to enjoy at your Super C.

Consult our only flyer follow us on Facebook Download the app

Quelle variété de pommes
choisir pour cuisiner?

Quand on dit «recette à base de pommes», il y a de bonnes chances que vous pensiez «tarte» ou «croustade». Mais en réalité, la pomme a beaucoup plus à offrir. Compote, salade, sauce pour la viande, ce fruit est vraiment polyvalent. Mais quelle pomme convient à quelle recette? C’est aujourd’hui qu’on démêle tout ça!

Trucs 1: La Lobo

la Lobo

Avez-vous déjà remarqué que certaines pommes gardent mieux leur forme que d’autres lorsqu’elles sont cuites? Il se trouve que c’est une question de variété. La Lobo est connue pour bien garder sa forme durant la cuisson. Pas très sucrée et moyennement acide, elle est idéale pour faire des tartes et des croustades qui auront l’air d’être fraîchement sorties de la boulangerie!

Trucs 2: La Cortland

la Cortland

La Cortland ne brunit pas au contact de l’air ce qui fait d’elle la pomme parfaite pour une salade sucré-salée aux noix, bacon et érable. Vous n’avez qu’à faire caraméliser les noix au four avec une préparation à base de beurre et d’érable, puis de tout mélanger avec de la salade verte, une pomme Cortland tranchée, des oignons et des morceaux de bacon. Parlant de viande, elle peut aussi servir d’ingrédient pour une sauce de type aigre-douce qui accompagne très bien le porc.

Trucs 2: La Cortland
Trucs 3: L’Empire

l’Empire

Le gros plus de la pomme Empire, c’est son goût peu acide et sucré. Elle est très bonne pour faire des gâteaux, des tartes ou même pour mettre sur vos crêpes le matin. Le truc pour une garniture santé qui goûte comme un dessert? Faites chauffer quelques tranches de pomme au micro-ondes pour les ramollir et arrosez de sirop d’érable. Vos enfants en redemanderont!

Trucs 4: La Spartan

la Spartan

Débordante de saveur et moyennement acide, si vous aimez les croustades la Spartan est la pomme qu’il vous faut. Pour rendre les enfants (et les adultes) très heureux, ajoutez une boule de crème glacée à la vanille sur chaque portion à la sortie du four.

Trucs 4: La Spartan
Trucs 5: La McIntosh

la McIntosh

La McIntosh est l’une des pommes les plus populaires au Québec. Quand vient le temps de faire une compote, elle est parfaite puisqu’elle se défait facilement lorsqu’elle est chauffée. Très juteuse et juste assez sucrée, c’est aussi la collation parfaite.

Trucs 6: Les hâtives

les hâtives

Saviez-vous que certaines pommes sont prêtes à être cueillies en plein été? Par exemple, la Jaune transparente ou encore la Jersey Mac, sont des pommes plus rares mais très intéressantes pour cuisiner. On appelle ces pommes les «hâtives». Essayez-les avec des framboises sous forme de carrés au four ou utilisez-les pour faire du jus.

Trucs 6: Les hâtives

Comme le dit le bon vieux dicton «une pomme par jour éloigne le médecin pour toujours»! Vous pouvez donc en consommer à volonté! En plus des sortes mentionnées ci-haut, vous trouverez une grande variété de pommes à découvrir et à cuisiner dans votre Super C.

Consulter la circulaire suivez-nous sur Facebook Téléchargez l'appli